PDA

View Full Version : Made my purchase.....

john445
05-17-2005, 03:10 PM
I have been gathering info on this forum for about 6 months. I inquired on a few Donzi Classic 18's and 22's. I had a deal on a 22 that fell thru. I then stumbled on Checkmate. I remembered these boats from my younger years. I ended up purchasing a Pulsare 1850. The hull has great lines and the gel work is sweet, much like Donzi. The similarities end there. It is a padded hull with not as much deadrise, still handles small chop well. It has a small walk thu windscreen which leads to seating for 2 up front. With a Merc 175 Optimax (outboard) I have reached 65 mph (GPS). The construction techniques on the interior leave something to be desired, exposed screws, staples, and non-removable carpet. The windscreen is held in place with wood screws sticking out below decks. The hull/deck joint is pop-riveted. How are the Donzi 18's held together? Is everything thrubolted to the deck? Every boat has it's Achilles heal, but other than that, it has outperformed my wildest expectations and looks incredible. If anyone is interested in a non-donzi I will post pictures. Thanks for all the info and I hope to continue to be a regular here, if I'm welcome.

John

txtaz
05-17-2005, 05:44 PM
Hi John and welcome to the board. I never had a Checkmate but drove a few. I found they corner flater than a V hull. I think the deck and hull are glassed together on the 18c. As solid as these boats are, it would have to be. I bounced off the foredeck and broke my chin (still have stitches) so they are SOLID.
On the windshield you can replace the screws with bolts and nuts. You can redo the interior, I got some seats from Overtons and re did the back bench on another boat. I also built side panels out of wood and vinyl. What makes any boat great is the effort you put into it.