PDA

View Full Version : I am Purchasing a 96 27 LXC....is there anything i.....

Avialanche
05-10-2005, 10:09 PM
I am purchasing a 96 LXC with Mercruiser 7.4 Bravo III, i am not able to find a Surveyor in the area that i'm purchasing the boat, i am an aircraft and auto mechanic, so i'm not totally clueless as to how to do a pre-purchase inspection, i'm am wonderin about any common problems that plagues this particular model and year. Also, i found a hour meter on the forward engine compartment wall, i'm assuming that this is the engine hour meter, it reads 54 hours. I couldn't help noticing that it had quite a few cables and wires going in and out of the unit, i see hour meters on aircraft all the time that are tied to the oil pressure switch, but they're usually just simple two wire units, the unit on the boat looked a little more complicated............can any body shedd some light on this. Thanks

RedDog
05-10-2005, 10:44 PM
No real help, but 54 hours could sound low on even a 2004 model.

A Merc shop could run a scan tool and tell you the exact hours

Avialanche
05-10-2005, 11:01 PM
No real help, but 54 hours could sound low on even a 2004 model.

A Merc shop could run a scan tool and tell you the exact hours

This boat has a carburated engine (carter carb), i didn't think this engine would have a Control Module/PCM of that complexity to have a internal hour meter.

But correct me if i'm wrong.

Walt. H.
05-11-2005, 12:44 AM
Avialanche,

Just a passing thought:
Check and see if it has a seperate 110 volt gas generator, many of them Donzi LXC 275 cruisers do for when you can't hook up to shore power. That 54hr's of run time might just be for the gen since its so low in hours, because a 1996 cruiser like that should have more like 200 thru 600 hours.

Does it look like this one? 1995 29' 275 LXC with 238 hr's and trailer, I was going to check it out for myself but it sold the same day I was planing to look at it for around $25K. :banghead:

Walt

Rootsy