PDA

View Full Version : Speaker Install in an 18

Maine18
05-09-2005, 07:04 AM
Hi everyone. I've been hanging around this site for a few years now - finally got my Donzi. It's a 2004 18 with the Merc 350 Mag / Bravo. Got a few questions regarding stereo / speaker install.

Does anyone know what size speakers will fit in the cut-outs in the side panels? What does the factory put in - Sony 6.5" or 5.25"? There is only one cut-out in each side panel - I'm assuming the other two speakers they put in go down in the foot well area...? Also - how do those side panels come off? Not sure if those buttons just snap off or unscrew or what. Don't want to break them. I have an amp I want to put in as well - I was going to mount it up under the deck - anyone have any input on that idea? I really don't want to damage the deck...hope it's strong enough.

Thanks in advance for all the help.

- Jamie

Sam
05-09-2005, 07:58 AM
Sorry to say Jamie that I don't have a clue to your speaker question but did want to say congrats on your new baby and welcome to the other world :eek!: .

Sam

Dr. Dan
05-09-2005, 08:00 AM
:spit: Jamie...Welcome...Congrats on the fine ride...I know there are alot of Board Members here who can guide you on specifics...but I would suggest you don't mount "ANYTHING" under your deck, you will find , Factory Wiring Harness and minor and light weight items, attched up there. But if ya put anything of Mass up there...it's gonna fall, and damage your boat and itself.

Most guys do the Mounts up under the Deck in the Ski Area or off to the side in their own isolated Box area that they fabricate. I have a Buddy who has a changer and or amp in his Engine Compartment, mounted to the Bulkhead.

The Banging and wave action is something to consider...what ever you do!

As for speakers, Most have them located by your feet and in the Sides of the Passenger area between the Cockpit Seats and the Rear Seat...some one will post photos.