PDA

View Full Version : General Donzi Education

Laszlo
04-01-2005, 02:30 PM
Hey,

I'm fairly new to the registry and have a couple of questions regarding the
X-18 and the Minx. I've been a dreamer of donzi classics for quite some time, however, until i found this registry i have never heard of an x-18 or a minx. What makes these boats different from the standard classic series. I really like the x-18 profile. What's different? Thanks - Eric

Formula Jr
04-01-2005, 04:02 PM
Let me be the first, or second or third person to welcome you to
the forums. Defining what a Classic Donzi is, is always a touchy
subject around here. Since MY opinion is much more important
than most everyone elses'here and due to the fact that I'm right
about everything; here is the straight dope on what a Classic Donzi
is.

These are the models that are out of production or still in production that
were designed Prior to the Merrick take over of Donzi from the Chrisholms.
That means any Donzi designed and produced after 1985 isn't a classic. And any Donzi produced
in 1985 to 1964 is a Classic. The are very nice designs that came after 1985,
but they are not Classics.
The Classic list:
Donzi 14 and F14.
16 Sporter-Skiier and all other Classic 16s including the OBs
18 2+3, X-18, Corsican
28 Sportsman
7 meter
Hornet 1,2,3, Benchseat and St Tropaz
The Classic 22, including one known OB version.
I would not include a real Blackhawk in this list as the hull was
altered.
GT 21
Spitfire, Doral, El Prescator.
Early racing Magnums with dual branding. Hey, they got Donzi on them.
F2, and the Criterians.

The Minx, Firefoxes(z boats) are on the division line of classic and post-classic.

After Donzi came under the OMC corp umbrella, it gets very difficult to tell
what was even a uniquely Donzi design since many of the designs crossed
different units of the OMC conglomerate. Yet the Donzi versions seem to have
been rigged towards performance and better interiors.