PDA

View Full Version : Veteran's Day, A letter from the Front

Formula Jr
11-07-2004, 02:56 PM
Baghdad, Iraq
November 6, 2004

To my friends,

A year has passed since I left on what has become one of the greatest adventures of my life. Today you are gathered to honor the people who have gone ahead of us on the trail and those who sit before you now. I write this letter to you in my Baghdad hooch after much introspection as to how my experiences have effected me over the course of my absence. I’ll do my best to avoid patronizing or condescending while imparting my reflections on what this Veteran’s Day means to me, and hopefully what it will mean to you.
I know that many of you do not agree with the war we are waging against an unseen enemy, and that’s okay. Each man and woman is entitled to his or her opinion; that’s what makes our country so great. Most of you know that as a teacher I have never discriminated against another person for voicing an opinion that comes from the heart and is truly his or her own, not something handed down and adopted from outside influences. I would only hope that you carried that same impartiality in your hearts when thinking about the people who perform these daily sacrifices in order to maintain your freedom and the freedom of the Iraqi people. It’s a frightening job, but also one of the most rewarding I personally have ever undertook. I have seen the best and worst come out of people under some of the most stressful circumstances imaginable, and am still amazed by their desire to carry on. We do it because we love our families, our friends and country. We perform our jobs in the hopes that by carrying out our missions successfully, future generations will never have to endure these hardships or face these trials. It’s important for all of you to under stand what some of these hardships really are.