PDA

View Full Version : OMC O/D issues

cutwater
09-22-2004, 03:43 PM
OMC novice here posting a thread!:

From the pictures I have posted, how can I tell whether this is the later model OMC drive with the cone clutch or the earlier model? Are there any re-occuring issues with the earlier drive?

See pictures under the thread:

1989 22 Classic for Sale (http://www.donzi.net/forums/showthread.php?t=36776)

in "Donzis for Sale"

Thanks, John

RickR
09-22-2004, 04:18 PM
cutwater
From pics looks like the "old dog clutch type drive" which is similar to an Alpha.
The drive and the Ford engine will reduce value of boat by a few thousand because they are not as popular as the Chevy/Bravo combo.
Depending on condition she looks like a good value. I would be suprised if the exhaust manifolds are still good so be sure and do a leak down or compression check. A low cylinder pressure would probably be caused by rusted cylinder walls, rings, valves and/or valve seats.

Do a search (upper right hand corner of window) for Cobra Drives.

Do you boat on Loudon????

GO VOLS!!!!!!!!!

jeffnstef
09-23-2004, 05:30 AM
I dont understand what a leak down or compression test is going to tell you about the exaust manifolds ?

jeffnstef
09-23-2004, 03:42 PM
Oh, Thank you ;)

MOP
09-23-2004, 08:16 PM
Thats an early King! They turned out to be Queens hooked to big blocks, they are a bit heavier than the Alphas but no match for a Bravo. A new upper gear set if blown will run near $1,500.

cutwater
09-24-2004, 06:59 PM
Thanks for the useful info on the King Cobra O/D. RickR - I do boat on Loudon on occasion. Don't have a boat right now but I have friends that live near PJ's Marina. I'll drop you and RedDog messages sometime soon. GO VOLS!