PDA

View Full Version : First major setback

Cuda
09-14-2004, 05:26 PM
Today after I sprayed the white paint, I pulled the tape off the black that was making my black stripes. A lot of the paint came off with it. :frown:

I guess I didn't sand it down well enough for good adhesion. I'll have to sand that whole area back down (black and white) and start all over again. :frown:

gcarter
09-14-2004, 06:11 PM
Joe, you're learning a lot. By the time you're satisfied, you'll know everything TO do and NOT to do. :smash:
This is wonderful experience.
Good luck. :frown:
Better for that paint to come off on the tape than in the water the first time you launch. :boat:
:wavey:

Fish boy
09-15-2004, 12:20 AM
Sorry to hear about the paint Cuda. Sucks to take 2 steps forward and one step back, but keep the faith brother, it will be beautiful when you are done.

Fish

Forrest
09-15-2004, 09:49 AM
I'm no expert at painting, but I've always carefully pulled the fine-line tape while the paint is still wet.

Maybe Scott Person can jump in here and set it straight on dealing with tape.

Cuda
09-15-2004, 08:33 PM
I pretty sure it's because I didn't sand a lot of it. It was in excellent shape and I figured I could shoot right over it. I didn't take into account that wax might still be on it.

I read on another board someone saying that polyurethane isn't very hard. Whoever said that has never tried sanding it off! Where it stuck, it really stuck!

rchevelle71
09-16-2004, 12:10 PM
I pretty sure it's because I didn't sand a lot of it. It was in excellent shape and I figured I could shoot right over it. I didn't take into account that wax might still be on it.

I read on another board someone saying that polyurethane isn't very hard. Whoever said that has never tried sanding it off! Where it stuck, it really stuck!
I think what they meant is that urethane remains flexible, but YES, it is hard to sand off.