PDA

View Full Version : What should I do with this trailer?

TuxedoPk
07-12-2004, 06:18 PM
I'm a bit perplexed as to whether I should invest in updating my GT's trailer or just replace it. It's got a brand new dbl wheel tongue jack & winch and the brakes work well, needs a spare tire and rewiring of the lights if I keep it.

The problem is that the rollers don't adequately support the boat.

Since the trailer itself is structually fine would it make sense to remove the rollers and convert it to a bunk trailer? I'd rather not get hit with the expense of a new trailer, but I've got a couple of 5 hour pulls this season and need to have something reliable.

I'm still shocked I made it 32 hrs roundtrip to AOTH w/o any problems. (Other than the boat passing me on the highway- once :bonk: )

GKricheldorf
07-12-2004, 06:25 PM
I'm no trailer expert, but i have a friend that can weld like no tomorrow. Can you determine where the rollers should be? Cut those supports off and weld them back on in the correct place.

Greg Maier
07-12-2004, 06:55 PM
I would buy a new one. A Donzi looks so much better on a new trailer.

RPD
07-12-2004, 07:40 PM
If the trailer is structurally fine, and the axels/hubs/tires are OK.... it makes sense to me to have this one modified to fit your boat... trailer shops are a dime a dozen and lots of these guys are very good and can make sure your boat is properly supported... essentially you would then have a custom trailer... and a good clean job would look as good,though not necessarily as flashy as a new trailer.. just my opinion, and you know how opinions are....

mphatc
07-12-2004, 08:26 PM
Convert it to bunks . . there are numerous internet suppliers of all the hardware to make this a do it yourself job. A GOOGLE search under boat trailer hardware, or supplies etc will lead you to everything.

It's easy once you establish the keel roller heights and the front rear balance, ie; tongue weight /axle location.