PDA

View Full Version : De-Winterize....after over two years of rest...

Kelly
06-23-2004, 12:24 PM
Well, due to the death in the family, the boat has been sitting, fully winterized in the car port for 2 years....and I'm getting geared up to fire her back up.

Since I have NO clue what winterizing a boat is/does, what do I have to do to undo it? Obviously I should change the oil (how?), etc etc?

I'm totally new to working on this boat, and I really want to get it out in the lake....any advice possible would be awesome.

thanks
Kelly

Cuda
06-23-2004, 12:28 PM
Being from Florida, obviously I don't know chit about winterization, but I'd:

Pull the plugs and squirt marvel mystery oil in the cylinders
Change the plugs
Add some octane boost to the fuel
And I'd run it a few minutes before changing the oil

Kelly
06-23-2004, 12:36 PM
LoL, very vaild point.

Stupid question: How do I change the oil on this thing?

David Ochs
06-23-2004, 01:19 PM
Kelly,

First thing I would do is get on with charging the battery(long and slow). If you don't know the age or condition of it, then replacing it may be in order. Cheap insurance.

If you don't know what was done to the boat for winterization, I would first look for anything superficial. Such as the flame arrestor being wrapped in plastic, stuff like that. People do wierd things.

Look for anything wrong, could a fuel leak have developed?

I would change the fuel filter(s) before ever starting the engine. After two years, there will be less gas spillage to deal with.

Change the engine and outdrive oil. If you're lucky there will be a drain line connected that you can route throught the drain hole on the transom. If not, pumping it out is about the only other option.

Check the plugs, if they're okay, check the gap and leave them. I know a lot of people that change them regularly whether they need it or not, waste of money if you ask me.