PDA

View Full Version : Is it too early to teach Stella to tread water?

2biguns
06-17-2004, 09:06 AM
We were worried that at 6 months she'd be afraid of the water but she's obviously part duck because she loves it.

She still loves the boat!

gcarter
06-17-2004, 11:48 AM
Steve, I have no personal experience, however I've read a number of articles about teaching infants to swim, sort of.
As I understand it, they aren't born with a fear of the water, they learn it. Some larger comunities have classes for infants, like at the "Y".

George...childless, but I too stayed at Holiday Inn Express last night. :bonk:

Cuda
06-17-2004, 12:02 PM
None of my children exhibit any fear of the water. Oops, I just realized I'm in the same boat as George.......no kids! :biggrin:

Debbie has a son who is autistic. I've been around him since he was two (now eight). He loves the water. You can dunk him and when he comes up he is laughing his azz off. In the tub, he thinks it's great sport if you aim the water out of the faucet at his face. :)

2biguns
06-17-2004, 12:03 PM
Thanks, George. We've heard the same thing and have had Stella in the pool since she turned 6 months old (she'll be 7 months next week) and she floated with me in the lake last weekend in her life jacket and loved it.

I've heard the same thing about kids and water and wish my parents had dunked me when I was little. Instead I HATED water until I was about 10.

Of course, we maintain a death grip on her anytime she's in or near the water (photoshop is a wonderful tool!).

ToonaFish
06-17-2004, 12:14 PM
Of course, we maintain a death grip on her anytime she's in or near the water (photoshop is a wonderful tool!).

Whew, while acknowledging her naturally superior motor skills at this precocious age, I was dumbfounded by the synchronized swimming pic... thanks for clearing that up!

Bunches,

Celene 'no kids, but in the running for Aunt of the Year'

2biguns
06-17-2004, 01:37 PM