PDA

View Full Version : Bonsai

Ed Donnelly
06-01-2004, 06:55 PM
I had just pulled into the coffeeshop,when a lady walked up to me and says, " I bet you a coffee I can correctly guess either your occupation, hobby, or, wifes nationality"
I figure she will guess my hobby is boating, but hell, its only a coffee, so I said OK
You are a gardener...No I am a process gas tech
Your wife is Japanese....No she is Irish
Your hobby is you grow minature trees...No I go boating

She gets really uptight and says to me " Then why the hell do you have that plaque on the back of your truck that says....DONZI...
Then it clicks in she mistook DONZI for BONSAI
She thought the D was a B and it was pronounced BONZI
She walked off in a huff and didn't buy my coffee.
Only in Canada EH? .Ed

TuxedoPk
06-01-2004, 08:36 PM
On my trip up the Hudson to West Point last week I took along a friend for his first ride.

He loved the boat.... and mentioned that he really loved the Italian styling :)

gcarter
06-01-2004, 09:34 PM
So Ed, do you use "EH?" in your normal conversation?
What I really mean is, do you say it but not write it?
I've met Cannucks who couldn't speak a sentence without turning turning it into a question qnd ending it in EH?
In March I went to an industry convention and sat in on a lecture where the lecturer, from Southern Ontario, didn't say EH? once. I asked him about it later and he said he practiced constantly not to. :rlol:

George

boxy
06-01-2004, 09:43 PM
George, I can't speak for Ed, but I'll bet that I say Eh as often as you drive 35 in the right lane with your left blinker flashing on your way to Denny's for their Early Bird 3:00 PM dinner.... :D

gcarter
06-01-2004, 10:19 PM
Boxy, I'm not quite 60 yet, and I still work for a living, so my mind hasn't quite turned itself off. That'll probably come next year. :bonk:

George

BUIZILLA
06-02-2004, 06:19 AM