PDA

View Full Version : crank mount waterpump

MR.MAGIC
05-14-2004, 05:42 AM
looking to put a crank mount waterpump on a ford 351
the pulley is a 4 bolt ,the pump i got is only a 3 bolt,any help on how to do this.thanks

gcarter
05-14-2004, 06:04 AM
I'm not an expert on the finite differances between Ovals & Bowties, but it seems you may have bought the wrong pump. However it shouldn't be too difficult to drill the pump mounting plate to match your Ford balancer. Just my $0.02.

George

mattyboy
05-14-2004, 07:30 AM
pulley??? my 351w has a crank driven jabsco pump mounted on a rectangular plate, the pump mounts to the bracket and has a shaft that connects directly to the harmonic balancer thru star shaped teeth and a star shaped rubber bushing
no pulleys???
If you like I think I might have part numbers and pics at home I can post up

Matty

gcarter
05-14-2004, 07:33 AM
Matty, his mounts directly to the balancer through the pulley. I bought one for my SBC. Wonderfully efficient, and simple to mount.

George

mattyboy
05-14-2004, 07:37 AM
you're right it goes thru the center of the pulley for the alt.
forget it let me finish my coffee :rolleyes:

Matty

rickrsbro
05-14-2004, 02:06 PM
call or email vince or richard at skidim.com .

early 302's and 351's used a 3 bolt / 28 oz harmonic balancer. later 302's went to a 50 oz weight / 4 bolt when they using less material to casts the cranks. you should get the casting date code off your balancer and model pump before you call. if you have a 50 oz balancer you might have less of a headache to go belt drive.

i have the same h/m set up as matty (with the restrictor on the thermostat housing.) the pump is isolated from the crank with a rubber torsion dampner,

JWCall
05-14-2004, 02:55 PM
The connector that is used on the old h/m setup is a lovejoy and can be bought through grangers. I had to replace the rubber part on mine and I got it from grangers. It was a perfect fit.

MOP
05-14-2004, 03:06 PM