PDA

View Full Version : 502 Update

Scott Heidt
04-23-2004, 09:00 AM
Hey everyone,

For those of you who remember my post "Just Can't Win"
Here are some recent photos of the block and heads. Two cylinders never fired and two cylinders are burned badly. Also from the photos,I believe answer how water got into the block.

One of the tuff things that I am facing is that I am not a mechanic. MY uncle who installed the engine, the guy who sold me the engine, and numerous co workers have all chimed in, and I am stuck in the middle with a $6,700.00 that for all intense and purpose will have to be rebuilt. My thought is that the damaged was caused by either an improper breakin and or incorrect distributor/ faulty distributor/ or inccorect timming adjustment.

I welcome input and questions because, I want to know the exact cause of this. I do not want to sink anymore money into this engine untill I get answers. Too much money has gone down the drain and the big bucks that will be needed to get my boat going again.... well I just don't want to think about that.. This has really taken the wind out of my sails.

Any way here are the photos. :puke:

Scott Heidt
04-23-2004, 09:02 AM
Here are the rest of the photos!

BUIZILLA
04-23-2004, 09:52 AM
Before we get started with online diagnosis, what has the selling agent told you so far as to failure reasoning and cause? I see a couple glaring irregularities already, but we need to hear from the source first.

J

hint... I was right all along... partly anyways...

GKricheldorf
04-23-2004, 10:15 AM
Scott,
In your "just can't win" post you said you were not sure if it were a marine block or a passenger block. Were you able to determine what you have?

Look for tapped holes over the oil filter, drilled and tapped holes for camshaft thrust plate.

mikev
04-23-2004, 10:26 AM