PDA

View Full Version : Just can't win :(

Scott Heidt
04-05-2004, 08:58 AM
Hey guys I just can't seem to win!

I have been working on restoring my '81 Hornet for two years. It had a rebuilt 454 when I bought the boat. During the first water test in January, 20 min into it, we threw two rods and sheared the cam in two places.

Bought a new 502 long block, All we had to do was install the new intake manifold, exhaust manifolds, water pump, dist, etc.
Cranked it up and everything seemed fine. Adjusted the timing etc. Couldn't seem to get it to run properly. We started to try and track down the problem. Water in the fuel, fuel pump problem, carb. issue, distributor problem. The main thing was that on the trailer it seemed tohave plenty of power. You get it in the water and it wouldn't go over 3800 rpm and then the power would drop to 3100 rpm. Like it was starving for fuel. Then at Mount Dora it ran terrible. On the way back to the boat ramp it was sputering like water was in the fuel. We'll we pulled the intake manifold and the oil on the top of the block was milky. The oil in the pan seemed ok. My uncle is pulling the valve covers today but there appears to be water in there also. The intake gasket looked fine and the manifold looked good. The exhaust manifolds are band new (stainless marine). He is pulling those also.

If all that checks out, is it possible that maybe there might be a defective headgasket, head, or improper factory assembly. I will post updates. My uncle is a good Merc. mechanic. He has been doing this for a long time. I rather a novice, but am learning from him. I thought I would post this to get some input from the group. I know there are many members with a vast array of knowledge. Comments and help are very much appreciated. I just want to go boating! Feeling a little frustrated, but I won't be beat. I have been around boats all my life and know how it goes. :banghead:

rayjay
04-05-2004, 09:02 AM
What 502 Long Block did you buy?

rayjay

MOP