PDA

View Full Version : 1999 22ZX New power-7.4MPI to HP500!

Mudball
03-12-2004, 08:54 PM
Hi all:
I believe this is my first time posting here.

I just bought an HP500 carb engine to put in my 1999 22ZX. It currently has a 7.4MPI in it.

The HP500 did not include the exhaust system. I will be pulling the heads and doing a valve job, and replacing the valve springs. There is a thread about needing this on another forum. This engine does have 180 hours on it.

I have some questions:
1. Where should I begin propping the boat? I am running a 24p Bravo I prop now. I turn 62-64 on GPS now (70 on the Gaffrig II speedo!!)
2. Is the CMI Platinum header system (best deal from Teague apparently is $1,900) the best bang for the buck, for an HP500? I do already have full time through hull exhaust, no Y pipe. I do know that these engines originally came with Gil manifold style exhaust, but my understanding is that they had reversion problems. The fellow I bought this engine from used Stelling headers from day one. The headers stay with his boat, sadly.
3. Do I really need external steering? I have a Bravo 1 drive with stock hydraulic steering.
4. I have no plates in the rear. I never installed them when I heard the horror stories of these spinning. I feel that they would help, especially with new
power. Do I need some?

BTW: I have driven this boat since new, and now know it well! I can get air with the best of them during a poker run. But, the major need to get air is from the wake of a faster boat in front of me!!! I hope to help that out...

Thanks!
Kent

Shanghied Again
03-13-2004, 07:14 PM
I would try a 28Pitch 4Blade Bravo1 If your Rs go beyond 5200 then go to 30Pitch,, Either one of those props will work well I was running a 30 Pitch prop with 510hp. And Yes on the external steering The drive locks up after 75MPH To kepp control on the boat Hydraulic steering is a must you are looking at an 80MPH boat with that motor. The 22ZX runs better with no Trim Tabs.