PDA

View Full Version : Buying my first Donzi

Knute
03-06-2004, 09:02 PM
Hey Guys,

Well I recently turned 40 and I think I deserve a Donzi! Also, our daughter just turned 4 and the wife agrees :biggrin.: that we need to start spending more time at the lake (Cumberland). My family started boating (Glaspar G3) at Lake Cumberland when I was 3 so I've got a tradition to uphold! I've been checking out the forum for almost a year now trying to get up to speed on Donzis. I've finally found one in the Baltimore/D.C. area that I'm interested in, so I'm going to check it out next week. It's a 1999 Classic 18 with black stripes, 350 mpi, and a windshield. Before I check it out I've got several questions I need help with:

1. Being a lake guy, I have no experience with salt water boats. The owner claims to have used Salt Away regularly. Are there any good checks or visual indicators that the engine/drive were flushed correctly and regularly?

2. The owner says the boat doesn't have an hour meter but he has logged 63 hours. Could a '99 Donzi come without an hour meter? Does the ECM retain engine hours?

3. Any other things I should check out?

Hopefully the boat is as nice as the owner says it is. I really want to put it on a new salt-free Lake Cumberland diet!

Thanks for the help!
Kent

gcarter
03-06-2004, 09:15 PM
Welcome Kent;
Wonderful place to learn all about things Donzi. There a lot of members here who can help a lot about late model Classics.

George

Fish boy
03-06-2004, 09:22 PM
Hi Kent,
just wanted to welcome you to the regisrty and donzi family. Sorry i do not have the answers you need (I have oppinions, but there are some folks here who will give you really good answers), but wanted to welcome you just the same.

Good luck with your purchase, post pics when you get her, and keep an eye out in the events and gatherings section so you can bring your her to one of the get togethers. You will not meet a better group of people.

Welcome,

Fish

MOP