PDA

View Full Version : Engine Compartment Gelcoat

RickR
02-03-2004, 08:24 AM
My 22 was built in Feb and I think the cold weather caused some runs.
http://www.donzi.net/photos/rryan60fiberglass.jpg

I decided against tread plate on the inside of the hull sides because of the compound curve but I would like to improve the cosmetics without removing the transom assembly and wiring.
I am a novice with fiberglass and gel coat.
Any suggestions?
Thanks!

Dr. Dan
02-03-2004, 05:41 PM
:sombrero: Big Rick...Last Winter/Spring I wedged my Fat Sorry Ass into my 22 Engine Bay and I sanded down the funky Gel Runs....when I got it all looking smooth...I did a Tip and Roll with "Jet White Interlux Bilge Coat"....Wow...what a difference, very high gloss, and it is idiot proof...in my case...once I get the Picture Posting Figured out I will post some...Poodle and Road Trip and several others saw it last season....I am very pleased and it really brightened everything up, and it cleans up very well...just as an FYI!

:wink: Doc

mphatc
02-03-2004, 08:16 PM
I agree! Dr. Dan did an awesome job on his engine compartment ! :superman:

I saw it at the 1000 Islands. It was then that I decided to do the same to my Corsican, but as my sorry ass is fat and lazy as well, :frown: and my engine compartment is much smaller, I separated the hull and the deck, pulled the engine and outdrive . . to have access to all of it . . I was actually thinking of smoothing everything in sight with with Epoxy and micro balloons . . wetsanding it and finishing with a polish . .

Wonder if Zymol works for this . . . . . please somebody :smash: me !

mphatc

Dr. Dan
02-03-2004, 11:25 PM
:banghead: I uploaded a couple of photos on my 2nd page of my "Members Section" on our Atlantic Coast Donzi Owners site www.atlanticcoastdonzi.com ....look under Dr. Dan...also a shot of the Eddie Marine Boxes...no real great gel shots...but it still looks pretty clean...enough to get an idea...? :toiletpap

;) Doc

RickR