PDA

View Full Version : TRS Outdrives

evetsathom
03-23-2003, 04:23 PM
I need information on TRS outdrives. I know nothing about them. I have always been told that I should stick with the Bravo. Any takers ?

Cuda
03-23-2003, 04:34 PM
Most people that have had TRS drives seem to like them pretty well. They are supposed to be stronger than a standard Bravo. Apparently the transmissions were the weak link in the set up. The merc trans were supposedly bad and the BW's were better. This is just based on what I have read, I have no first hand knowledge with them.

smoothie
03-23-2003, 05:37 PM
Do a search on TRS,and you will get all the info that you are asking for... wink

olredalert
03-23-2003, 08:22 PM
-------A TRS with a small block,almost any small block,will take a tremendous amount of abuse in my opinion.I understand that the merc trans is somewhat weaker than the Borg-Warner,but maybe not as much difference as is often portrayed.
-------Back in 1979 I ran my big-block/TRS powered X-18 hard.I was younger then and used to have a take no prisoners attitude.It gave me no trouble for the 3 years I ran it.Matter of fact,thinking back,I never even changed the trans lube in that merc trans.Thank God I have wised up a little.......ol red!......Bill S

Budmann
03-24-2003, 09:29 AM
TRS...BULLETPROOF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

BigGrizzly
03-24-2003, 07:34 PM