PDA

View Full Version : early 70's cigarette

mattyboy
09-04-2001, 09:42 AM
a buddy of mine has the chance to get an early 70's 19' cigarette that would need a total restore. I have committed myself to helping if it comes thru.
but we have some questions.
are there resources like the board for cigarettes? can parts be found(ie interior and carpets and decals....? is this an Aronow boat?
what value does and old cigarette have( average or above average resale)
would have to make a road trip to get it
and rent space to restore it. we believe it is a 350ci/350hp corvette engine with volvo outdrive
any info would be greatly appreciated

Matt

seano
09-04-2001, 11:24 AM
mattyboy, I did a 28SS so I have some knowledge here... ;) Your first order of business should be to decide up front how much you(or your friend) want to spend. Is the boat original gel? If it is, that changes alot...if not, see below.

The Hull ID number should begin with CRT and if it does, it is an Aronow Cigarette, and actually a 20 footer.

check out traderonline.com to get an idea for what they are currently selling for. thunderboatalley.com(my site) is not a bad place to go, although I haven't had much time to update it lately.

As far as finding parts and the value of a "restored" boat, your best bet would be to come as close to original as possible, and not get crazy with the details...you'll never get your money back out...

Cigarette still make the boat and "sells" it for around 80,000 bucks! You can find them for sale for between 10,000 and 40,000 on the internet.

I believe they came with various power options including a big block TRS and the Volvo package you mentioned. Again, I wouldn't go crazy trying to duplicate original...

BTW, I know a guy that can do the decals if you want...so email me for more info and any other questions...

mattyboy
09-05-2001, 07:39 AM
Thanx seano,