PDA

View Full Version : Donzi for beginners?

chrille
11-22-2002, 08:22 PM
Hello to all,

I'm new to power boating, had never before any kind of boat and I'm interested in Donzi's. So I have two questions:

Would you agree to start with a Donzi 18 classic?

Would a total of 7.000 $ to be okay for a year 1982 Donzi 18 classic with 430 hours?

Many thanks for any help!
Christian.

oldLenny
11-22-2002, 08:42 PM
Yes, and yes...

Scubado
11-22-2002, 08:44 PM
Christian,

First of all, welcome to the Donzi Board. I think a classic 18 would be a great first boat! They are safe, handle predictably, and are fun to drive. Just take your time to learn the boat and always be safe.

What kind of water will you be boating in (small lake, large lake, ocean)? How big can the water get (large waves etc.)?

What type of boating will you be doing (waterskiing, day trips, boating with friends, anchor overnight, etc)?

Learn as much as you can about boats before you purchase one. The people here can be a great help. What kind of power does the boat that you are interested in have? What kind of drive? What about the trailer? Is the finish in good shape? Are there any signs of damage to the hull? Has the boat been in salt water? Ask lots of questions, the more you know the happier you will be with your first boat.

Jeff

SS18
11-22-2002, 09:17 PM
Christian,
Great boat to get wet with! But if you don't know about boats check the stringers,power and floor or get a limited survey for not much more you can get an almost perfect boat.Power is easy
but expensive structural is involoved and can leave you discouraged at the least!

SS18/AKA 292 Fastech

Ps 88 18 classic 4 sale new 350 and drive/with trailer.

MOP
11-22-2002, 09:50 PM
Hi and welcome aboard, sounds like you may have found a deal. Hope it checks out well! Look your forward to future posts.

harbormaster
11-22-2002, 10:08 PM
You will have to send us photos of the boating areas and enthusiasts in Germany!

Stix Magill