PDA

View Full Version : Stabilty at high speed?

Kikwear
07-10-2001, 03:36 PM
Ok, sorry for all of the posts recently, but I just got the boat. When I get the boat up near 45 or so, it gets really unstable in anything less than a slight chop. At 50, it feels like it’s walking. Is there anything to make the ride less pants-staining? http://www.donzi.net/ubb/smile.gif Thanks.

------------------
1997 Classic 16 5.7 Alpha One
White with red stripe

Riley
07-10-2001, 05:05 PM
What type of prop are you running? I've been messing around with different props for a couple of years now, and some make my 18 a lot more snakey than others. I'm finding it's a double edged sword with these hulls--More lift will give you better top speed, at the expense of stability and increased chine walking. But what's the sense in going faster if your boat is on the ragged edge of control?

I'm thinking that a good set of trim tabs would eliminate the chine walk and stabilize the boat at speed, but I can't as of yet bring myself to hang a pair of the damn ugly things off the back of my transom. Right now I'm content to give up a couple of mph in trade for hull stability.

Gearhead99
07-10-2001, 07:24 PM
If the drive is adjustable, tuck it in alittle. If you have tabs, set them down alittle. If you still feel unstable you have a couple of choices.

1. Buy a slower boat that isn't a Donzi.
2. Get use to it, it's called High Performance boating, and most, or should I say ALL of us LOVE the rush.

WOW !!!

jaroot
07-10-2001, 09:16 PM
kikwear,