PDA

View Full Version : Carpet Question

Scott Pearson
03-16-2001, 05:21 PM
Ok guys...I finely found an orange carpet, Yes orange! I need to know what you guys have for bindings. You know the edging thats on the edges. Are yours Canvas or Polyester? Canvas will be solid and soft to the touch. Polyester will be a little transparent and harder.

Ok...is it stapled and glued or sawn?

(NJScott

Eight_(8)_Ball
03-16-2001, 09:31 PM
generally if i am putting in a snap in carpet for a customer i bind the edge with acrlyic binding. the acrlyics do not trap moister and hold up better. a polly will trap moisture and the thread will rot faster than poly and the poly binding will crack after time

------------------
Mike @ Bayview Canvas (http://www.bayviewcanvas.com)

[This message has been edited by Eight_(8)_Ball (edited 03-16-2001).]

Dr. Dan
03-16-2001, 09:45 PM
Scott, now you're talking my language, I'm a manufacturer sales manager in the Carpet Industry. I assume your discussing carpet for your boat, the binding can be a variety of materials, but most often you'll find a vinyl base product used that is very similar to what your seats are covered with. If you use a cloth type binding it's likely to fade sooner and be less durable under the elements. Also keep in mind that if your carpet is not Marine Grade it is going to fade(nylon). There are a wide range of Olefin based products on the market that look great and are reasonably priced(and won't fade). I would not recommend glueing unless the floor is nasty and you don't mind major work when you go to replace it. Go to an upholstery/canvas shop,they should have snaps that can secure it inplace and make for a quick replacement or clean up when your ready. Need any more info. e.mail me at drdan@nfdc.net , good luck ..Doc Just read 8 Balls post and I agree, good point on the moisture and cracking, neat web site Mike!

[This message has been edited by Dr. Dan (edited 03-16-2001).]

RickR
03-17-2001, 07:05 AM