PDA

View Full Version : Awakening of the Horses Part 2

boldts
03-14-2001, 03:42 PM
Good idea Rick. Not sure what happened, but we used to be able to pick the page to read. Sounds like you guys in the South are well on your way to Spring. We're in the lower 50's in OH. Finally a chance to get those Christmas lights down Ha Ha.

Bryan - I'm not an expert on the Volvo drive line-up. I know there are a lot of ingenious folks out there who have adapted outboard trim cylinders to the earlier Volvo drives. When I spoke to boat rigging people in the OH area, most said it wasn't worth the expense. Also, along with the hull restoration, I'd like to upgrade the running gear. I've been told that a 400 Chevy small block is a good cost effective upgrade. The 383 stroker engine is a fine engine, but a $2,000 crank cost is a little out of my budget. First priority on my Donzi is getting her back to show room condition.

For information on the Lake Cumberland, Jamestown Marina, Awakening of the Horses event along with the official shirts of the event, go to: www.mwdonziclub.com (http://www.mwdonziclub.com)

Scott Boldt

[This message has been edited by boldts (edited 03-14-2001).]

Bryan Tuvell
03-14-2001, 05:25 PM
Scott, I would have to agree with you and your thinking, get her show room and then do what you think is the next priority.
Isn't your classic worth more as a collector etc, restore original? If so I would not change the outdrive.

I know I haven't mailed the polo shirt check yet, I close on the 2nd house next Friday so I am afraid to spend foolishly at the moment, BUT I am having the trailer bearings done tomorrow, repacked and new seals for $90 parts and labor. I need the piece of mind before I pull out for KY. I will order my shirts first week or so in April. If I can afford it! This 2 house deal will blow for awhile.