PDA

View Full Version : Best thru-hull exhaust with silent choice...OMC

gjohns6896
07-02-2002, 03:37 PM
I am looking for any suggestions on installing thru-hull exhaust, but I would also like the "captain's call" option. All I have right now is how the exhaust came from the factory...meaning through the prop.

I am guessing I would need to buy a kit or something and the necessary hardware to perform such operation.

Any help would be considered!

George

tomyboy
07-03-2002, 11:36 AM
I AM LOOKING FOR THE SAME INFO. I JUST OBTAINED A 90 SWEET SIXTEEN WITH OMC THROUGH PROP EXHAUST. IF I COME ACROSS ANY INFO I WILL LET YOU KNOW

gjohns6896
07-03-2002, 10:48 PM
I have been chatting with a guy about this as well, seems he found a kit, but has not told me where he found it or how much it is. I do know that he has not purchased it YET. I think the main problem we are facing has something to do with the steering pump being in the way or something like that. I only drive it, I am no mechanic. At any rate, this kit he found said it would work, but there would be lots of extra hoses laying around in the engine compartment, just to get it to fit properly.

I am still waiting to see what he comes up with.

Cheers,
George

MOP
07-04-2002, 11:50 AM
Hi if you fellows go to the URL below you will see one of several makes of diverters. I to have an OMC 91 16 with a mildly juiced 302 which might run just a little faster with open exhaust. My problem is just like yours or power steering is in the way. I've been looking at the idea of reversing the elbows dropping the exhaust hose dwon by the stringers and back up to Gil's Silent Choice unite mounted outboard to clear the transom stuff. problem alot of hose in a tiny compartment. The other thought was to go to hydraulic steeing then go straight out the back.

http://www.marineparts.com/PARTSPAGES/Gil/gil3.htm

gjohns6896
07-06-2002, 06:45 PM
Thanks NY!!!