PDA

View Full Version : 18 classic top end?

chappy
08-30-2002, 08:24 PM
HELLO ALL,
FIRST TIME DONZI OWNER HERE. I JUST BOUGHT AN 87 CLASSIC 18 WITH STOCK 350 MERC MAGNUM. RUNNING A 23 PITCH STAINLESS CLEVER. TOP SPEED I'M GETTING AT 4400 RPM IS 60 MPH. MOTOR HAS 170 HOURS. IS THIS THE MOST I CAN GET OUT OF THIS SET UP, OR CAN I GET MORE WITH A RE-BUILT OUTDRIVE WITH THE RATIO CHANGED? I THOUGHT I SHOULD BE PUSHING 65 MPH. I DON'T HAVE ACCESS TO A GPS, MAYBE MY SPEEDO IS OFF. ANY HELP WOULD BE APPRECIATED, I'M VERY NEW TO THESE SPEEDS. THANKS FOR ANY HELP!

Stix Magill
08-30-2002, 08:42 PM
Welcome to the Donzi.net boards. I have a 1987 Minx 20 and it has a fresh 350 Mag. I have only recently purchased a GPS, but on the first trial I saw 59.5 mph with a full tank and 2 passengers. My speedo was reading much less. Do you have power trim? I think you are going to have 63 to 65 on GPS, if you are trimmed properly. You can get much higher speeds if you spend big bucks. You should have higher RPMS and should consider trying a 21 non-clever if you haven't already. I have read that the clever is best for situations where the hull is out of the water and only the foot is in. You are not running that much power. Just my regurgitation.... the other guys know more and will hopefully add to this.

Let us know what happens!!
Stix

harbormaster
08-30-2002, 08:46 PM
wHAT IS THE RATIO?

Bug
08-30-2002, 09:05 PM
Welcome aboard!! I have a '84 18' 2+3 with a
260 Mercruiser set up which is a 350 chevy 260 hp
I beleive your 350 magnum produces about 280 hp.
On a good day I've had it pushing between
4400-4600 RPMs top speed at 62 MPH, spinning my
Clever 23 pitch.
If it works don't fix it (just my opinion)
Enjoy the ride.

MOP
08-30-2002, 09:37 PM