PDA

View Full Version : Ocean boating

Bad Dog
09-06-2000, 01:48 PM
Next week I'm heading to the NC beaches (Topsail beach) for a long overdue vacation. Topsail Island has access to the NC Inland Waterway and the Atlantic.

I've never been boating in the ocean before and I hear all of ya'lls stories about taking your Donzi's out and getting big air and I'm thinking about taking my 18 down with me.

I'm a good boat driver, but I'm looking for some advice on taking my Donzi out in the ocean.

What size seas are too big?
Anything in particular I should look out for? Should I leave the boat at home?

Any advice is appreciated.

Bret

------------------
Bret Pedigo
bret@emji.net

Jamesbon
09-06-2000, 02:01 PM
Bret,
Just my ".02 cents." Get the local charts, look for anything submerged, jettys, sand bars, pilings, know your tides too. Of course, check the wheather before you go. Take a VHF or cellular, anchor, flares,....the list goes on and on. I've been through 9-10 footers in the Ocean City MD inlet, and while I wasn't real comfortable with it, the boat did fine, just adjust your speed accordingly.

Nathan

Forrest
09-06-2000, 03:38 PM
. . . and keep the bow up! Really, running in the ocean is fun. Just be aware where the waves start to build into surf as you get near shore. The Atlantic off of the Outer Banks can get really big. Mornings are usually best. If you see whitecaps, forget it!

------------------
Forrest

RickR
09-06-2000, 07:01 PM
Take her to the ocean you'll have a blast http://www.donzi.net/ubb/eek.gif .

The wind velocity is very important.
A 4' swell is fun.
A 20knot wind and a 2' chop is a bitch.
Don't trust the NWS forcast, they're "Bad to Lie"

Watch out for the afternoon sea breeze.
Keep an eye on the weather. If the wind kicks up find sheltered water.

Make some friends and get some local knowledge. Two boats offshore togeather are more fun and safer.

Make sure you have at least 1 VHF (I carry 2)and a Flare Kit.