PDA

View Full Version : Engine Swap

CDMA
08-31-2000, 02:40 PM
Well Patience is running well but as always I want more. Collge life is fun, DEMANDING, but most of all I miss the boat stuff. Thanks to a registry memeber ( Tory) I got a great deal on a long block 355. He had in his garage a long block that he had built for his truck. Put 7000 miles on it and scrapped the truck. It has 9.5 to 1 compression, 1.94 heads, and a coulple other basic but nice performance parts. I was going to rebuild mine to get 9.5 to 1 compression and put Vortec chevy heads on it but for the price of this ( $500) I can not beat it. I am thinking of either the edelbrock performer or victor intakes. Any thoughts on that? Also I have the Quadrajet that was on the stock engine and was wondering what I have to do to it. I figure I am looking at a realistic upgrade of 65 horsepower at least. From 260 to what 325-330? So am I going to have to rejet the carb like Paul O or what. I have no experience what so ever playing with Carbs. If a Holley is so much better I will do that but if not it would be nice to put the money towards maybe a crane roller cam set up. I am not worried about reversion at all because I have desiged tubes that go over the end of the risers and fit in the exhaust hose. Essentially moving where the water is introduced farther aft. So power is of the essence. The more the better and I have a Whaler with a Yamaha so if this thing idles like s%$% I don't care. This is just a riding boat. No skiing or anything like that.

Also anyone else have anymore thoughts on the external steering? As soon as I get the pictures of Gene S's system I will start on that.

Chris

RickR
08-31-2000, 04:36 PM
Chris
Be carfull with the extension tubes. Risers have dams built in them so the water will contact the top of the water jacket also.
Without these you might overheat and melt your exhaust hose.

------------------
RICKR
mailto:riggerb@aol.comriggerb@aol.com</A>

CDMA
08-31-2000, 05:32 PM
Rick,