PDA

View Full Version : Winterizing (rookie) Question:

FlatRacer, aka BarrelBack
10-13-2003, 10:09 PM
'67 Barrelback, 302 Ford, Volvo 270:

I disconnected the hose between the outdrive and the hull fitting and connected it to a hose that I dropped into a 5 gal bucket of antifreeze.
Ran the engine until most of the bucket was sucked up.
Now, do I need to worry that the engine wasn't up to temp. enough for the thermostat to open? Is there anywhere that the antifreeze needed to get to that it might have missed???

Sorry for the dumb questions, but the boat's put away now and I just read the other post on winterizing. Plus, I never did trace the path of the cooling system so I haven't quite got it straight in my head yet.

FR :p

blackhawk
10-13-2003, 10:45 PM
I am no expert here but I always make sure the engine is good and warm so the thermostat is open so the antifreeze goes through the whole system.

Boat_Mon
10-13-2003, 10:51 PM
Can't you just pull the thermostat to be sure it circulates throughout?

blackhawk
10-13-2003, 10:56 PM
Yes, you can pull the thermostat too.

I always run mine to get the stabil through the fuel system and get it warm enough to change the oil, then when I restart it I run the antifreeze through it.

MOP
10-14-2003, 08:39 AM
Running anti freeze through from drive or hull pickup should be done with the "thermostat removed" and the block and manifolds drained, the thermostat closes as soon as the cold anti freeze hits it leaving fresh water it the block to freeze!