PDA

View Full Version : More Reversion Info

PaulO
08-18-2000, 07:49 AM
To think I doubted the existence of that phenomenon called reversion when I was first told about it!

Yesterday, the new engine arrived and last night I began the tedious process of swapping EVERYTHING!. When I removed the intake manifold from the "old" engine, I saw something I couldn't believe... rusted intake ports on the 4 center cylinders!!

To me that means that the reversion was so bad that it was actually sucking water/vapor all the way back into the intake ports and perhaps the intake manifold!

This really spooks me.

PaulO

Riley
08-18-2000, 09:28 AM
Hey PaulO, that sounds spooky! Although I'm by no means an expert on 4 stroke engines, it seems virtually impossible to me to suck water vapor all the way back up into the intake manifold. On the intake stroke the exhaust valve is closed, and anything in the intake manifold should be under a vacuum, right? On compression both valves are closed, as they are on the power stroke. On the exhaust stroke the intake valve remains closed. It seems to me any reversion taking place would take place at the beginning of the intake stroke, when the exhaust valve might be still open due to long duration.

Am I thinking about this correctly? If not, please let me know why.

My first thought might be that you have some sort of head gasket problem or a cooling system problem of some sort. I had a Sanger flatbottom V-drive that had a cracked head, and the symptoms were exactly like yours. Not to mention the cream colored oil! But like I said, I'm by no means an expert, and would really appreciate an education on reversion!

Hope that baby flies when you get 'er back in the drink. Good Luck.....Chris Riley

PaulO
08-18-2000, 11:21 AM
Riley,
What happens is: