PDA

View Full Version : Launch Ramp Wows

boldts
06-23-2002, 11:04 PM
Thought I'd tell you all about a incident that happened today while launching at our local pond.

We're ready to go, waiting in line to launch our Donzi. When out of the blue, the guy pulling an empty pontoon boat trailer in front of me comes back to my truck and asks me if I'd back the trailer into the water for him. He then says "I've never done this before!" I say "Sure, be glad to help."

I jump into a totally unfamiler truck with a trailer I've never backed up before and proceed to back it down the ramp for the pontoon boat owner. Needless to say, saving everyone involved a ton of time! I go back to my truck and proceed to launch our boat. Beth is uncomfortable with driving our boat in conjested areas, so I start the boat and drive it off the trailer and move it out of the way to a near-by dock. As I go back to now move the truck and trailer to a parking spot, a man watching from the shore tells me, "That was the most unselfish and professionally done trailer backing he had seen done by anyone. You got in a truck you didn't know and put the trailer right where it needed to be with-out doing any damage to it." I say "Thank-you, I've had a lot of practice over the last 17 years."

Now for the reason I'm posting this. Sitting out on the lake waiting to load his boat is a guy driving a Baha performance boat. This guy starts bitching at me because I'm listening to the words being said by the by-stander. I get in my truck and go park it. As I walk back to my Donzi, the words "Why don't you buy a REAL boat!" or "Next time if I see you waiting, I'll leave my boat at the launch ramp dock." are coming to my lips, but I refrain from saying anything to this jerk, because you see, it has been 15 minutes and this idiot is still trying to get his boat back on the trailer. I did more in 5 minutes than this guy could even think of his whole life!