PDA

View Full Version : Hook in the 16 Hull

Rootsy
04-12-2002, 10:39 AM
So that i don't sit and ponder this forever i am just gonna ask all of you that already KNOW! why does the 16 have a hook in the rear and not the 18? is the hook the single greatest speed killer and since i've never been in an 18 does the 18 chinewalk like the 16? the 18 is only 1 foot 4 inches longer, where did they put that length increase?... i know there's history and a good reason behind it... i just don't quite know what it is... so impart your knowledge oh wise ones... please... :)

mattyboy
04-12-2002, 11:14 AM
James,
I'm not an expert but from what I know the hook was to help it plane quickly and also to act as trim tabs @ slower speeds to stop the porpoiseing.
and @ WOT they were not in use as they were out of the water
I was also under the impression that the newer 16 did not have the hook.
when you talk about speed robbing, it's not the hook but the lack of hull that hurts.
my 16 at 55+ is so lite in the ass end I've come real close to spinning it out now twice.
Forrest is the guy you need to talk to from what I hear he's got the quickest 16, it's a trim/no trim, X dimension, and guts thing to go fast in the 16
sorta like driving a Cobra you turn heads,make noise go fast but it don't ride like your daddies oldsmobile!!!

Matt
Matt

Rootsy
04-12-2002, 11:26 AM
ok i typed too soon.. went back and searched the archives and learned a few things... the hook doesn't hurt the top end since it is out of the water... length to width etc etc etc... so maybe my question really needs to be the following...