PDA

View Full Version : Who all has a drive shower?

Stix Magill
04-11-2002, 01:00 AM
OK. I am a novice and I admit it!

I didn't know what a drive shower was until an hour ago. Geez! Things are so easy if you give them a chance. For those who don't know (surely I'm not the only one :rolleyes: ), it is literally a metal pipe with a pickup nozzle that sits low in the water and channels water onto the drive. It literally showers the outdrive with water to cool it. This increases the life of the drive and helps to prevent oil breakdown, etc. Being a mechanical lightweight, I try to leave well enough alone, but this sounds pretty simple and very functional.

Question: DO YOU HAVE A DRIVE SHOWER?
I would love to have a "yes" or "no" followed by your comments. :)

Thanks guys!

Tomahawk
04-11-2002, 06:00 AM
yep - looks trick.

Sam
04-11-2002, 06:32 AM
Just put one on last week ! very easy to install.

Sam

boldts
04-11-2002, 07:07 AM
Our new 22 has one. You won't find to many high performance boats with-out anymore. Should be a discount on the insurance since it prolongs the life of the drive.

Bad-Tat
04-11-2002, 07:11 AM
Nope, Looks like I will have to go the custom route to get one to fit the Blackhawk.

Rootsy
04-11-2002, 07:13 AM
Sam,

where did you pick your drive shower up at? cheap insurance i think... wonder if BoatsUS or West Marine carry them???

so i guess that'd be a resounding NO at this time on the "do i have a drive shower" question

Ranman
04-11-2002, 07:38 AM
Yes, I run a Simrek "Halo" model for my Bravo. These showers are great and work very well. There are two versions, the "Summit" for Alpha's and the "Halo" for Bravos. Teey even work with most external hydraulic steering setups. Price is around $160.00. These keep the drive cool, clean and "chaulk" free. Lastly, the install is very easy requiring an hour tops. Here's the link, but it seems to be down right now.

www.driveshowers.com (http://www.driveshowers.com)

mjpcowboy
04-11-2002, 07:49 AM