PDA

View Full Version : looking for local knowledge- Midwest Donzi Club

WOT-sup
06-20-2002, 07:00 AM
About 2 weeks after getting home from AOTH II, I got the word that life as I knew it was about to change. I call Sarasota home, and although I travel for a living, that is where I 'hang'. Starting in September, it looks like I will be 'hanging' somewhere in the vicinity of Detroit Metro Airport for as many as 18 days a month! This could go on indefinitely.

My first reaction, well, one of them anyway, was to think 'I will never get a chance to finish my Project ('72 18' 2+3). Next thought was, 'what am I going to do to keep busy up there. It was obvious!! Take the Donzi north!! Finish it up there. Maybe hit AOTH III on the return trip to FL!

Soooo, Midwest Donzi folks, here are a couple of questions:

1. I would be looking to rent a shed/shop/garage etc. that offered a safe place to keep the boat and was suitable to work on it for most of the winter. (Hope to have the glass work done by the time I head north, so the work would be basically the total re rig of what is now just hull and deck). The location would have to be within about 1 hr of DTW Metro Airport (I'll be 'on-call').
Is anyone familiar with where to rent such a place or have any ideas?

2. May be interested in trucking the boat up rather than self- trailering it. Although I will take a car up there, the preferred one to take from our home (FL) isn't a tow vehicle ('89 Ford Probe). Alternatively, I could tow it up behind a 2WD Rodeo.
Anyone have any recommendations for boat transport companies?? Lots of empty trucks coming out of FL in the fall.
Also, is a 2WD SUV at all feasible as a vehicle for general driving (not towing) once the snow and ice arrives?? Or is it the FWD Probe, hands down.