PDA

View Full Version : Cleaver Prop

flametamer
12-17-2000, 09:28 PM
I am currently running a Mercury Mirage Plus 48-13246 A50 23p Prop. on my 1994 22' classic. This porp.seems to work well and rpms seem to match.I have a Mercury 454 w/ bravo drive. I want to try other props and found a mercury stainless three blade cleaver. 14"x30p.Has anyone had any luck with this combo?

Tom on Lanier
12-17-2000, 10:19 PM
Flametamer - you have one of the best props for your combo right now. You would need a lot more power to turn a 30" prop, and I mean a whole lot more power. Don't go there or you won't go!

------------------
Tom
"Tomahawk"

CDMA
12-17-2000, 11:07 PM
1 inch of pitch = 200 rpm

So 7 inches should be 1400 rpm

You will be lucky to plane off.

Chris

rayjay
12-18-2000, 10:06 AM
I'm still learning about props, but wouldn't the 14" diameter effect the overall "size" of the prop? If I remember right there a relationship between diameter and pitch, if you increase the diameter it has the same effect as increasing the pitch, and if I imagine the converse is true. Wouldn't a 14" prop be a decrease in diameter and therefore would be more comparable to a lower pitch than 30?

What does a cleaver do?

rayjay

CDMA
12-18-2000, 11:02 AM
You are correct. The smaller the diameter is equal to less pitch. However what is the diameter of the mirage? I am not sure it was given and I am not to familiar with Mercruiser stuff yet.