PDA

View Full Version : Hornet + and -

kamapmj
06-03-2002, 01:43 PM
I am looking at a 1977 Hornet with a new motor and would love to get some feedback as to the potential weak or problematic areas with this boat and it's age as well as strenghts. I am very familiar with Donzi as I have owned several, but am unfamiliar about the idosyncracies of the Hornet.

Also how big and what type of material was the factory fuel tank on these boats?

Any info would be extremely helpful.

RH
06-03-2002, 02:20 PM
I am new to the Donzi ranks with a 1972 Donzi Hornet. Aside from the great asthetic value of the boat, I really appreciate the way the boat handles. Alot of you may be laughing at me now, but this is the first "performance boat" that I have had the pleasure of owning. I have owned quite a few Centurys over the years and mostly inboards, so this is a nice experience for me. In my limited experience with my 1972 Hornet, It is a fun boat to run in rough water. It gives you a feeling of confidence, control and a solid feel. The quality of the hull layup is quite evident after 30 years of progressive maintenance.
I find that is is a very dry ride due to the extreme flare on the bow. Please note that I have only had it in the water 4 times, but it has been an absolute riot!
Just my .02 worth.

Forrest
06-03-2002, 02:22 PM