PDA

View Full Version : lifting my hatch

daboys
08-25-2003, 10:18 AM
Starting to think about that awful time of year when I have to put the Donzi away. This is my first year with the boat so I'm a little confused. The hatch to the engine room is electric on my 28 XZO, when I disconnect the batteries for winter storage how do I lower the hatch. The batteries are in the engine room - is their usually a mainual release, if so what would it look like - Many thanks

mjpcowboy
08-25-2003, 11:01 AM
Not certain about the 28 but on my 33 I take the bolt out of the lift where it attaches to the hatch, lower the lift and set the hatch down. Manually lift hatch in spring and attach. Word of advice the hatch is very heavy.

McGary911
08-25-2003, 12:28 PM
On some boats with electric hatch lifts, I've seen folks install some through bulkhead terminals, the type seen on some racecars where the battery is difficult to access (get 'em from Summit). Usually on a boat, you can put them under the back seat that is right on the engine room bulkhead. Clean and out of the way. That way you can hook up 12v from the outside (just lift the cushion) and work all your accessories.
This is especially handy if for some reason you run down your battery, or have some other battery related failure. Youll be able to hook up 12v and get the hatch open. If it ever happens, you'll be glad you have those external posts.

Cuda
08-25-2003, 12:56 PM
I'm not sure about your Donzi, but on my Formula, there is a pin you can remove where the hatch connects to the lift. I pulled mine out. Luckily I did this before I ever neeeded to due to dead batteries and the like. If it was connected I don't see anyway to get it up short of removing the rear bench seat. I don't know what the purpose is of this pin anyway, the hatch damn sure isn't going to fly up under speed, it is HEAVY!

Darrell
08-25-2003, 02:04 PM