PDA

View Full Version : The origins of the Minx.......

Stix Magill
03-10-2002, 07:42 PM
Do any of you know where the Minx comes from? The high freeboard is unique, right? It seems "tall". What was the purpose of this boat? What was it's bloodline? What do you think? :)

Thanks for any and all input!

Scott Smith

Stix Magill
03-10-2002, 07:54 PM
What do you think about the hull and it origins?

Formula Jr
03-11-2002, 03:58 AM
The Minx shares the same designer and lines as the FireFoxs and The Crossbow.

Designers:
Chris Collier - According to sources on Donzi.net
Dick Genth - According to Boating Magazine Article - 1986
Don Westerman - Quoted as "Engineering" the Z series in Muscle Boats - Henry Rasmussen 1988
Dave Riley - Quoted as "Styling" the Z series in Muscle Boats - Henry Rasmussen 1988
Info supplied by EricG.

It can be considered a Z 20.
Though I have no real knowledge, it seems to have been designed as the Non Cuddy Day boat version of the Z-Boat line. It shares nothing with the Hornet or the GT.

Stix Magill
03-11-2002, 10:30 PM
Thanks Owen. The Z boat link is logical. The freeboard would add to cuddy possibilities. Has the Classic series ever had a 20 foot offering? 16, 18, _______ , 22.............

The boat goes in friday!!!!

Formula Jr
03-11-2002, 11:46 PM
well ya, there was the Seven Meter, and the Hornet and the GT. Then the Spirit, and the Spitfires at 24 feet.

speedster77
03-12-2002, 10:41 AM