PDA

View Full Version : HP question

johndmay
05-28-2000, 08:14 AM
My new 502 showed 550 HP at 5300 rpm. Does anyone have an approximate idea of what the horsepower is at the prop?

------------------
John D. May
Manotick, Ont.
www.jackmay.com

GeneD
05-28-2000, 09:16 AM
You know...that is a good question.
Forrest should have an idea.
That is a real good question.
Who has the formula?

------------------
GeneD
Melbourne, Florida

RickR,GroveCity
05-28-2000, 12:28 PM
johndmay
I am not an engineer but;
I figure the loss caused by the geartrain would be almost the same(@ the same RPM,same drive)
454 Mag Bravo(5000RPM redline) is 385@crankshaft,350@prop

502 Bravo Merc(MCM 465)(5200RPM redline)
500@crank,465@prop

So 550-35=515

------------------
RickR mailto:riggerb@aol.comriggerb@aol.com</A>

[This message has been edited by RickR,GroveCity (edited 05-28-2000).]

GEOO
05-28-2000, 04:26 PM
John What boat and drive are you running?? GEOO

johndmay
05-28-2000, 05:57 PM
GEOO, it's a 1988 Z-25 with a Bravo 1. It's running about 65 mph (on the GPS) at 4800 RPM. The prop is a 26P Bravo 4 blade. I'm pleased with the new motor (although I was hoping for low 70's) but was just curious what the true HP at the prop was, after the dyno showed 550.

------------------
John D. May
Manotick, Ont.
www.jackmay.com

GEOO
05-28-2000, 06:59 PM
John, Sounds like you have a nice strong motor. What rpm's did it make 550hp?
You are running at 17.5% slip. That's a little high, you may be able to gain a couple mph by making the boat more efficient.
GEOO

johndmay
05-29-2000, 07:03 AM