PDA

View Full Version : what is difference in 22 2 plus 3 and a 22 classic

thunderrolls
03-26-2003, 10:50 AM
i am fairly new to the donzi classics but i love them, i am looking at a 22 2 plus 3 but am not sure what that means and how is it different from other boats?? any help would be appreciated.
thanks

Rodger
03-26-2003, 10:59 AM
In 1982 the deck style changed on the 22's and the name was changed to 22-2+3. Prior to that there were a few different models of 22 but all with the same hull. Through the 80's the name 22-2+3 remained, but early in the 90's the name changed to 22 Classic. The only difference in the 22 hull now from when they were first introduced in 1978, is a slight downward angle added to the chine. The chine modification was done sometime in the mid 90's. Power and drive options varied through the years. In the mid 80's OMC bought Donzi, therefore the boats were equiped with OMC drives until they were sold again.

<small>[ March 26, 2003, 11:06 AM: Message edited by: Rodger ]</small>

Murphy
03-26-2003, 02:56 PM
It's always been my impression that the 2+3 stood for 2 seats in front + 3 in back. Don Arronow died in February of 1987, following which ownership of Donzi passed to OMC. For me, the pre-87 models are special for this reason, although many fine boats were built in later years as well. As far as I know Classic 22's have always had a 2+3 layout but I think the Criterion which had seating in front of the windshield may have used the same hull.

Murph

olredalert
03-26-2003, 03:12 PM
------Im pretty sure the Criterion hull is not the same hull as the 2+3/Classic hull.When Randy next appears,I think he will back me up on that..........ol red!.......Bill S

Rodger
03-26-2003, 03:18 PM