Ranman
06-03-2003, 09:22 PM
eek! eek! eek! eek!

DAULEY
06-04-2003, 06:41 AM
need help

Fish boy
06-04-2003, 09:27 PM
I am not an expert but I will try. First, did you remove the duo-prop drive that came with the boat for some reason and replace it with a bravo that now uses a single prop application?

What engine/horsepower do you have? What gear ratio? What are you using for a prop currently and what speed @WOT, RPMs?

SOrry for the 20 questions, but the info will be helpful to try to figure out what is best.

DAULEY
06-05-2003, 06:33 AM
engin 502 415hp have not tried any props yet donot want to buy wrong one changed drive to make it easyer to dock have a new in crate blackhawk drive also broke the one that came on boat and bought bravo 1.50 gear ratio any help in chosing prop would be helpful
Thanks bob

riverrat
06-05-2003, 07:24 AM
I would go to the mercury web site and find a loaner prop dealer nearest you & try a few props before I bought one. maybe a "25 mirage plus to start with or a bravo four blade??

Greg Maier
06-05-2003, 07:24 AM
Bob,

I certainly am not a prop expert but here is my advice. I would shoot for a target speed of 70 MPH. With a WOT RPM of 5000, 10% prop slip, 1.5:1 gear ratio, that would give you a required prop pitch of 24.64 inches per rev. I would try to get a prop that gives plenty of stern lift since the Blackhawk has plenty of natual bow lift. I think the cleaver type props give the stern lift. Also, I think that more blades give you stern lift, i.e. a four or five blade prop versus a three blade. It will probably be a lot of trial and error on your part to get it right.

Ranman
06-05-2003, 07:47 AM