PDA

View Full Version : Galvanic trailer corrosion delema

Ralph Savarese
08-15-2003, 09:13 AM
I am tossed as to buy a Rolls trailer with stainless hardware or go with a loadrite without!
The load Rite dealer I spoke to says you will have problems with stainless and aluminum in salt water. Rolls on the other hand says the opposite. who is correct based on your experences .
Ralph

RickSE
08-15-2003, 11:26 AM
I've never owned an aluminum trailer but would have to agree with Load Rite. I think it's better to have good quality plated steel fasteners rather than stainless on an aluminum trailer. There is just too much galvanic potential between aluminum and stainless. I work in the machine design industry and we have a lot of vendors who will not accept machines with stainless fasteners in aluminum parts.

Ralph Savarese
08-15-2003, 03:02 PM
Cool,
Thanks for the info I went with the
Load Rite

BigGrizzly
08-15-2003, 07:13 PM
It is true about the stainless and aluminum. it has happened to me. poped the heads off the bolts and splinterd the aluminum stringers I installed in my 1966 16. of corse this was under deck so their was always some dampness there. On the other hand poodle is also correct cleaning is the best cure for problems. I personally like both brands and would not hesitate to buy either either one stainless or not. My current trailer is a right-on similar to load-rite. but its funny all the aluminum parts have iron bolts and the galvanized parts(axels etc.) have stainless faseners.

Cuda
08-15-2003, 07:53 PM
Aluminum+stainless=good. I have a 1988 Fastload trailer under my fishboat. I have had absolutely no problems with galvanic corrosion in a 100% saltwater environment, and I'm ashamed to say there were a few years when I was less than faithful with the maintenence of it.

Rootsy
08-15-2003, 08:39 PM
hmmmm, now what if you hard clear anodized the aluminum and installed SS fasteners? :D

i really did hate chemistry...

BillG
08-16-2003, 11:30 AM