PDA

View Full Version : New engine problems

Hotboat
05-07-2000, 06:01 PM
Hey gang, need your help. Just finished a non-Donzi boat that I have been working on for 2 years. A 1972 V-drive Century Mark II with a 340 ci Chrysler. Just totally rebuilt the engine. New everything. Cranked the engine, 60 pounds of oil pressure, after running for 15 minutes(temp 160) 40 pounds of oil pressure. 15 minutes later, 20 pounds pressure. At idle 0-5 pounds. Changed the oil pressure guage, sender, oil and filter. Thought the problem would go away. Took the boat out for a spin yesterday. 60 pounds pressure as I leave the dock, 4 miles later-40 pounds pressure. Started back home to find at 2500 rpm 20 pounds pressure. Let off the throttle coming into the cove where I live, 0 pressure.Idled to the dock, by then the engine was rattling. Pulled the boat out, let it cool off. Cranked it up, 25 pounds pressure but still rattling. Any suggestions or ideas on what happened?

------------------
Hotboat

harbormaster
05-07-2000, 10:55 PM
Eddie... tsk tsk tsk.

Such talk from a guy whose boat won't start. http://206.150.187.82/ubb/tongue.gif

GeneD
05-08-2000, 08:16 AM
One of my buddies just rebuilt a 318 in his RV and the same damn thing happened. No one could figure it out. Right now it is still a mystery.
Hate to ask this, but were the correct bearing used?
How about camshaft bearings?
New oil pump I assume?
I really haven't a clue as to what may have happened, but when you find out, let the rest of us know.

------------------
GeneD
Melbourne, Florida

Scott Pearson
05-08-2000, 09:15 AM
Gene is right, check the bearings that were used. The Crank Bearings. If you have a 10 under crank with stock bearing this is what it will cause or a 20 under with 10 under bearings same thing. I had a 302 motor in a 1969 Z-28 and this is exacty what happened. Good luck...let use know how you make out.

(NJ) Scott

Forrest
05-08-2000, 10:31 AM