PDA

View Full Version : OK, so you found a boat out of state

newbie-n-TX
05-20-2003, 07:41 PM
now what? Do you hunt down a surveyor through the yellow pages and trust your decision. Or, take time off and fly/drive to where the boat is to watch.

newbie question I know. Not that I've found one, just getting some of the ducks in the row.

Thanks!

BUIZILLA
05-20-2003, 07:46 PM
Tell MAGOO where it is, give him some fun tickets...

and don't worry about it.

J

Greg Maier
05-20-2003, 07:56 PM
Go here

Surveyor Reviews (http://www.yachts-byowner.com/reviews/index.htm)

This is a link to a page with nationwide Surveyor Reviews. You can hopefully find a surveyor near you on this page.

MOP
05-20-2003, 08:12 PM
If you do decide not to got I may be able to help, I've been a yacht broker since 86 and have some very good contacts in many states. Drop me a note and I'll get hold of a local in that area that can get you someone good. I may even know one myself, have sold boats up & down the east coast and a few on the Great lakes.

Dredgeking
05-20-2003, 09:52 PM
i used a surveyor for my fountain and he was worthless. my 5 year old could have told me more about the boat. if you get lucky there will be a knowledgable board member in the area who can help you. the knowledge here is incredible.

Cuda
05-20-2003, 09:59 PM
You should see if there is a board member nearby that could take a look to see if it is worth your trip, or a surveyor fee to begin with. I've done it for some of our board members. There are very few things I'd rather do than to have an excuse to go look at a boat! :D

oldLenny
05-20-2003, 10:28 PM
Ask nice and have someone HERE go look at it. I don't think there is ONE dummy in this group ANYWHERE...Relax and pursue it...I would trust the opinion of anyone here as their stuff is far nicer than anything of mine...a lot of DONZI education resides here. They know what to look for and can amass the costs better than new-comers. (I am a new-comer) :D

MOP