PDA

View Full Version : Stupid Question

TMANN
07-29-2003, 12:12 PM
I’m sure this is the stupidest question yet just figured I would be the guy to ask it. I backed my trailer in to the water without unplugging it this weekend and now it does not work. I have always unplugged it so I have no idea what’s burnt out. Question is it the fuse or bulbs. Or is it something else. Thanks for all the help you guys are great....

TMANN

JimG
07-29-2003, 12:43 PM
Dude! It's that nasty SALT WATER you boat in. It'll eat anything! It's almost like acid! :D :D

He he!! Just kidding...

I've been boating for 25 years, and have NEVER unplugged my trailer lights before backing in. Never had a problem... Check the grounds. That's what will go bad first.

Let me know if you need a hand! Have ohm-meter, will travel! :)

JimG

RedDog
07-29-2003, 12:49 PM
With current trailer I never unplug and have never had a problem. With past trailers, light fixtures leaked and would blow bulbs sometimes if I didn't unplug.

Check your bulbs first.

Ranman
07-29-2003, 01:23 PM
Couple of thoughts here:

1) The Ford owners manual for my truck and Jenn's new Explorer both advise disconnecting the wiring harness prior to launching a boat. THE OWNERS MANUAL SAYS TO DISCONNECT.

2) Electricity and water don't mix. You're just asking for trouble. Unplugging saves the bulbs and may prevent a possible meltdown elsewhere. I make it part of my "routine" to unplug the trailer at the ramp and to reconnect when the boat is back on the trailer.

3) I had a snowmovbile trailer that quit working (or so I thought). When I plugged it into another vehicle, voila! Turned out that the 4 pin connector got wet with snow and caused a fuse to blow under the hood of my truck. This fuse will blow if the connector gets too wet. Try plugging your trailer into another vehicle. If it lights up, check the tow vehicle, if not, check your grounds first.

Cuda
07-29-2003, 02:07 PM