PDA

View Full Version : volvo can switch from left to right hand prop???

Moody Blu'
09-28-2001, 04:49 PM
Is this true? can a volvo be switched to a right hand from left hand or vice versa?

I need to know this because I am testing some props this weekend.

I am not sure. :confused:
I know the gears are angled and tapered so spinning the wrong way might be bad.
I am not sure. :confused:
Anyone know?
HELP please!

Thanks in adavance! ;)

GEOO
09-28-2001, 04:59 PM
No problem running a right or left hand prop, just switch the arm in the drive. GEOO

MOP
09-28-2001, 08:49 PM
Hi before you play with rotation I remembered that in one direction, I believe left hand you can drive the main vertcal shaft right up through the top cap running at high RPM and jumping the prop out of the water as our Donzi's do. I am a retired Volvo tech with no darn books to refer to. And have fixed a couple over the years that were over loaded. See if you can get your hands on a diagram you can tell that one direction forces the shaft down the other loads the shaft against the split brass keepers and that what lets go and BOOM!

Phil / Long Island

Moody Blu'
09-28-2001, 10:16 PM
I had a feeling that something was amidst.
thanks for the info phil.

I am just testing props though.

Antone know the stock roatation of a 250 drive?

I heard that the ratio on the 250 is 1:69 that sucks!
volvo made three different ratios, 1:35, 1:69 and somethin else.
1:35 sounds good to me ;)

boldts
09-28-2001, 10:50 PM
Broque,