PDA

View Full Version : 2 cycle 350????

CDMA
09-19-2001, 06:09 PM
Ok guys breathe deep and think of this with an open mind. This is just a silly thought I have been kicking around for a few years now and I wanted to toss it out into the open just cause the board seemed quiet. I have no intentions of doing anything like this I am just curious why it would or would not work. So no laughing.

Now I understand the inherent deficiencies in fuel consumption, EPA and so forth but in terms of a power density there is nothing, short of a gas turbine, like a 2 stroke engine.
So I was wondering why no company had come up with a large 2 stroke gas inboard. Even if not mass marketed and kit per say that would go around any regulatory restrictions.

My first thought was to do the following: Take a 350 chevy and flip it upside down. Remove all valvetrain, oil and camshaft hardware. Close all associated holes and related. Basically cover the valley with an intake manifold and seal it off completely. So now you have this rotating assembly of a 350 missing a lot of parts. You would need to figure a way to satisfactorily close the holes left by the intake and exhaust valves. Leaving only the spark plug in the combustion chamber. Now basically take the oil pan and cut a hole in it and putt carb on the now upside down v-8. Where I got stuck was getting the oil, air and fuel mixture through the cylinders. You would not have the luxury of a cast 2 stroke block and due to the constraints of the water jackets you could not cut large enough groves in the walls of the lower parts of the cylinders to allow for enough flow. So this is where this theory stopped and I was stumped.