PDA

View Full Version : winterizing tips

mattyboy
09-18-2001, 07:20 AM
I've done outboards, not inboards or I/O

I know to drain lower unit, but do I replace fill/drain screw? do I refill with oil or leave drained? do I leave the drive up?

how do I insure I get all the water out of the block?

Do I top off the fuel tank or try and leave it as empty as possible?

I was told to run the engine and spray fogging oil into the carb?

what do you do to trim tabs??

I know you guys have all the info
Boldts didn't you say that you have always done yours.

1968 16 351h/m 250 outdrive,water pickup in the bottom of the boat
Thanx again
Matt
just closed the pool,gonna have to pull the boat soon. :( :( :o

Rich
09-18-2001, 07:55 AM
Matt.......
Try this http://www.brownsmarina.on.ca/tech-winter-inboard.html :D

Tony
09-18-2001, 11:12 AM
I'm no expert, but here's what I've picked up...mostly from this site:
I change the lower unit lube, making sure it is pure with no whitish color. No need to leave it drained, it is ready to go in the spring. Likewise, I change the oil.

Leave the lower unit in the down position, all weight is where it is best supported, with no distortion of the bellows, etc.

Find and open all the pet cocks on the exhaust system, drain, then close. Then pull apart the inlet hose to the exhaust system and, with engine running, pour in a couple gallons of antifreeze, the environmental friendly kind. Near the end of that I fog the carb with fogging oil and shut 'er down.

Repack your trailer bearings, you don't want water sitting in them all winter.
No need to do anything to your tabs, as far as I know.

Mixed opinions on the fuel tank...for the last couple years I left mine low with a can of stabilizer in it. This year I think I am going to leave it full, with a can of stabilizer, thinking this will reduce condensation. Who knows?