PDA

View Full Version : Question about winterizing

Greg Maier
11-02-2002, 07:41 AM
I have a question about winterizing. This is my first winter with a boat so I am new to the winterizing procedures. I've read where the engine needs to be fogged to prevent rust on the valvetrain and cyclinder walls. If I just started the boat every two weeks or so, would that accomplish the same effect. I realize that I will have to run fresh antifreeze through the engine every time that I run it. I plan on starting the boat, running it till it reaches operating temp and then sucking antifreeze back through the cooling system. With the non-toxic antifreeez only costing $1.30 a gallon, it really won't cost much to do this. The boat is on a lift at a private dock, so I have easy access to the boat. What do you think, would this be better for the engine than the traditional winterizing?

MOP
11-02-2002, 07:58 AM
Seems like alot of extra work, why not do the traditional winterizng. Then your worries are over till spring.

Greg Maier
11-02-2002, 08:09 AM
M.O.P.
I see your point, I was just wondering what would be better for the engine, to keep it running all winter or let it sit all winter.

mattyboy
11-02-2002, 09:17 AM
this year when my bud got his cigarette, the boat had sat in dry storage in a non heated building for 10yrs, when we turned it over without plugs you could see oil coming from the cylnders, put plugs in new battery and off she ran,

so I'm a winterize it right and don't worry about kinda guy.

now I have to practice what I preach, gonna be cold today!

TOO cussball cool! TODAY

MATT

Indyblackhawk
11-02-2002, 09:34 PM
Greg,