PDA

View Full Version : Help Me Pick A Donzi Out!

unknown user
08-21-2001, 12:04 PM
Hello all! I'm looking to buy a used Donzi. I can remember as a tyke out on Lake Candlewood in CT, my brother used to point out these beautiful machines. I fell in love since day one. Now that I'm older, kinda financially secure (Well as secure as you can be while serving in the Armed Forces!), I'm looking to pick up a used one. I've been looking at the Boat trader, ETC, just trying to get a feel for what Donzi has offerred. I have some boating experience, having piloted my brother's Cobia Cuddy here an there along with a couple of my friends boats. This will officially be my "First Boat" though. I have some requirements, perhaps some of you guys can help me out. Here Goes:

1.) Must be a Donzi (No Brainer :D)
2.) Under $18K preferrably
3.) 20' or larger
4.) However much I *Love* the Classic, the lack of storage space/room would piss the wife off too much.
5.) No open bow, looking like a cuddy.
6.) V8, SB or BB is fine.
7.) Something that is quick or could be readily modified to be quicker ;)
8.) Capable of being towed/launched by a V8 Ford Explorer.

What I have found so far are the older "Z" series. What's the difference between a "Z" and a "ZX"? Does anyone know any good reference online that show the different models over the years? Thanks in advance, I know it's getting later in the summer but better late than never!

Ryan

EricG
08-21-2001, 12:27 PM
First of all, welcome to the group!!!

Now, your questions....I bought an 88 Z21 last year because of the same reasons you mentioned - the look and performance of a Donzi, with a little more useable space. I haven't regretted it at all, and the only complaint I have is, of course, it's not quite fast enough with the Smallblock/alpha combo - but at least it's turnkey reliable with almost 600 hours on it.