PDA

View Full Version : Welding Stainless

PaulO
12-11-2001, 04:05 PM
I need to make transom tie bars and have found that they now make stainless welding rods to be used in AC or DC stick welders without the need for shielding gas. I have done lots of mild steel welding with stick and wire-feed but, I have not done any stainless. Any of you guys out there have any experience with this? Any info would be appreciated.
Thanks,
PaulO

2biguns
12-11-2001, 04:09 PM
My little sister's husband's brother (well, ok, my sister's brother-in-law) does stainless welding for a living (they do rails and decor for malls and office buildings). If you get stuck, e-mail me and I'll get you his number. Good luck.

Steve
scsmith@hiwaay.net

RedDog
12-11-2001, 08:26 PM
No help, but your question took me back almost 20 years when I was a piping engineer and served as the grunt for the craftsmen - i.e., the welders. They would make a double butted sch 80 or 160 stainless (SA304/SA316)joint and make it look like art. X-ray QC. But it was a shielded gas process...

I'll pull out my old text book and see if I have anything of use and let you know.

marcdups
12-11-2001, 08:54 PM
Paul, back in the days I used to weld stainless with an arc welder, rod quality had to match steel, ie; 304 with 304 rods 316 with 316, ain't done it in a while but works out great, with 304 for example welds seemed to corrode faster than material any how on a boat i would stick with 316 or better.

My 0.2 cents

Towel boy

BigGrizzly
12-11-2001, 09:15 PM
I've done some with my wire feed and Argon gas. it was like welding mild steel. I was surprised how well I did and how strong the weld was. After all the bo ha I was given. However I f I were to have it really pretty I would have a friend Heli arc it.

Randy

ALLAN BROWN
12-12-2001, 07:10 AM
If you are an average stick welder, you'll be a pro with ss rod. It is easy!

AB

Gary S.
12-29-2001, 11:52 AM